Sabine Felber (Master of Arts)

 

 

  • born in Essen/Germany
  • 1988 begins to use photography as a means of story-telling
  • Master's degree in Sociology and Politics
  • 1997 to 1999 photo classes with Oliver Scholten 
  • 2000 begins work as a freelance photographer
  • mediacoach
  • based in Berlin/Germany

 

 

selected exhibitions and projects

 

2016

"Ein Foto kommt selten allein", group exhibition photography, Museum of Photography, Berlin

 

2015

"see my story", bangaloREsidency Goethe-Institut Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore, photography, text and digital stories, Bangalore

 

2014

"Retrato Brasileiro", photography and text, Brazilian Embassy, Berlin

 

2012
"Ansehen", autobiographical photography - women in prison, 32 selfportraits, Vechta

 

2011
"pause - for a moment", photography, text by Franziska Berge, Berlin

 

2010/11

"UN-Interns", photography, text by Chris Baker, New York

 

2007

"More Asia", solo exhibition photography and text during the Asia-Pacific weeks Berlin, room4art, Berlin

2006

"Flüchtige Begegnung", solo exhibition photography and text, Gallery Jan Schlütter, Cologn

2005–2006

"Things I never told you", photo-artist of the year 2005, bitkom e.V., Berlin

2003

"Stadt Träume III", solo exhibition photography, Rotes Rathaus zu Berlin, Berlin

2002

"Stadt Träume II", group exhibition photography and text , KunstWinter-Berlin, Berlin

2002

"Stadt Träume I" solo exhibition photography and text , shee Gallery, Berlin

2001

Foto Bild Berlin, contemporary photography fair, Stilwerk, Berlin

2001

"Half way to the moon" solo exhibition photography and text , EXISTART – Container, Berlin

2000–2001

"Urban Drawings" video artist Sabine Felber

Adalgisa Campos, temporary action in public spaces, Paris, Berlin
2000

"Der Elf Uhr Zug" slideshow as part of the program of the singer-songwriter Corinne Douarre, Grüner Salon der Volksbühne, Berlin

2000

"Aufgeweckt" group exhibition, Schönhauser, Berlin

1999

"photostock" international group exhibition, Mack Gallery, Sarajevo Bosnien (BiH)

"stand stills" photo-text-installation with Franziska Berge, Akademie der Künste zu Berlin and Literaturhaus, Munich


"Hong Kong connection" photo installation, Schönhauser, Berlin

 

"wrapped" 16mm film, 3 minutes, colour.

Concept, production and performance: Leta Hong Fincher, Vikki Weston, Sabine Felber. 

Synopsis: A woman becomes invisible during the wrapping of the Reichstag.

To top

Text: Gérard A. Goodrow

Published in: Dreams & Trauma. Photos for freedom of the press, 2007

 

Sabine Felber’s “City Dreams”

The German photographer Sabine Felber systematically stages social living spaces in the major international metropolises of the “Global Village” – in Berlin, Hong Kong, Paris, Peking and Sydney, among others. In her comprehensive series, “City Dreams”, metropolises are not only depicted as places of encounter, but also as places of isolation. Felber’s interest in this subject matter is of no surprise; besides her keen interest and work in photography, she also studied sociology in Heidelberg. The series “City Dreams” is an intensively researched study of “world cities” as well as an intimate and empathetic portrait of the individuals that inhabit these metropolises. 

A society consists of a conglomeration of individuals – millions of individual people with their very own personal life stories. When we think of metropolitan cities, we associate them with masses of people, crowds and a fast-paced environment. Felber’s portraits of people in metropolitan societies are not only representations of the individual, but also social depictions of the individual metropolises. 

Sabine Felber is a “participant observer”. Originally a term applied in cultural anthropology (a subject area very closely related to sociology), the term refers to a technique used to study the life of a group by participating in its activities. As preparation for her photo shoots and capturing the peculiarities and idiosyncrasies of the different metropolises, Felber reads the texts of authors native to the area, talks to the city’s inhabitants and searches for the corresponding public spaces. She chooses a specific angle and waits, waits and waits – with the patient of a saint – for the right moment. 

Like her Swiss colleague, Beat Streuli, Sabine Felber is interested in what “moves” people in metropolises, physically as well as psychologically. Relationships between people – between man and the environment or architecture – play an important role. Although the people and the surrounding architecture are on equal footing, her work cannot be called portrait photography nor referred to as city landscapes in the classical sense. Rather, her work can be described as a symbiosis of both genres – a kind of psychological, contemporary photographic portraiture of a city determined by its people at a specific point in time. The images are timeless and, at the same time, with the help of the camera, are precisely captured expressions of the “Zeitgeist”.

Felber’s photographs neither represent your typical or stereotypical city, nor the spectacular. Rather, they depict people living their everyday lives against the backdrop of a metropolis. Stories are told although the individual stories are left open – without a beginning or an end, without a given order of events. Sabine Felber gives the observer a glimpse into a moment in time, a snapshot of a moment, which by itself, is unspectacular. It is Felber’s fine craftsmanship of transporting empathy into her images that makes her work her own.

To top


Sabine Felber

 

 

 

Öffnet externen Link in neuem FensterBlog  Öffnet externen Link in neuem FensterFacebook

Sabine Felber, M.A.

 

  • geboren in Essen
  • seit 1988 Beschäftigung mit Fotografie als Erzählmittel
  • 1995 Studienabschluss Universität Heidelberg
  • 1997 bis 1999 Fotoklassen bei Oliver Scholten 
  • seit 2000 freie Fotografin
  • Mediencoach Bayerischer Rundfunk
  • lebt in Berlin

 

 

Ausgewählte Ausstellungen und Projekte

 

2016

"Ein Foto kommt selten allein", Gruppenausstellung Fotografie, Museum für Fotografie, Berlin

 

2015

"see my story", Künstlerstipendium bangaloREsidency Goethe-Institut Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore, Fotografie und digitale Geschichten, Bangalore

 

2014

"Retrato Brasileiro", Fotografie und Text, Brasilianische Botschaft, Berlin

 

2012
"Ansehen", Autobiografische Fotografie mit Frauen im Gefängnis, 32 Selbstporträts, Vechta

 

2011
"pause - for a moment", Fotografie, Text: Franziska Berge, Berlin

 

2010/11

"UN-Interns", Fotografie, Text: Chris Baker, New York

 

2007

"More Asia", Einzelausstellung Fotografie und Text im Rahmen der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin, room4art, Berlin

2006

"Flüchtige Begegnung", Einzelausstellung Fotografie und Text, Galerie Jan Schlütter, Köln

2005–2006

"Things I never told you", Künstlerin des Jahres 2005, bitkom e.V., Berlin

2003

"Stadt Träume III", Rotes Rathaus zu Berlin, Berlin

2002

"Stadt Träume II", Gruppenausstellung Fotografie und Text, KunstWinter-Berlin, Berlin

2002

"Stadt Träume I" Einzelausstellung Fotografie und Text, shee Galerie, Berlin

2001

Foto Bild Berlin, Messe für zeitgenössische Fotografie, Stilwerk, Berlin

2001

"Half way to the moon" Fotografien, EXISTART – Container, Berlin

2000–2001

"Urban Drawings" Adalgisa Campos und Sabine Felber zeigen in Paris und Berlin eine Serie zeitlich begrenzter Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum und deren Wirkung auf die Menschen und den Ort

2000

"Der Elf Uhr Zug" Diaserie im Programm von Corinne Douarre, Grüner Salon der Volksbühne, Berlin

2000

"Aufgeweckt" Fotografien, Schönhauser, Berlin

1999

"photostock" internationale Gruppenausstellung, Mack Gallery, Sarajevo Bosnien (BiH)

"stand stills" Foto-Text-Installation mit Franziska Berge, Akademie der Künste zu Berlin und Literaturhaus, München


"Hong Kong connection" Foto-Installation, Schönhauser, Berlin

 

"wrapped" 16mm Film, 3 Minuten, Farbe.

Idee-Produktion und Darstellung: Leta Hong Fincher, Vikki Weston, Sabine Felber. 

Inhalt: Während der Reichstagsverhüllung wird eine Frau durch Verhüllung unsichtbar.

Nach oben

Text: Gérard A. Goodrow

In: Traum & Trauma. Fotos für die Pressefreiheit 2007“

 

Sabine Felbers „Stadt Träume“

Die deutsche Fotografin Sabine Felber setzt gesellschaftliche Lebensräume in den wichtigsten internationalen Großstädten des „globalen Dorfes“ wie Berlin, Hong Kong, Paris, Peking und Sydney systematisch ins Bild. In ihrer umfangreichen Serie „Stadt Träume“ ist die Großstadt Ort der Begegnung, aber auch Ort der Vereinsamung. Dass Felber diese Thematik wählt, wundert nicht: Neben ihrer intensiven Beschäftigung mit der Fotografie, studierte sie in Heidelberg auch Soziologie. Und ihre „Stadt Träume“ sind intensiv recherchierte Auseinaderstetzungen mit Weltstädten, aber zugleich auch intime und einfühlsame Portraits einzelner Menschen in den jeweiligen Metropolen.

Eine Gesellschaft besteht bekanntlich aus einem Konglomerat von Individuen – Millionen von einzelnen Menschen mit ihren ureigenen, persönlichen Lebensgeschichten. Mit Großstädten assoziieren wir Massen von Menschen, Gedränge und eine gewisse Schnelllebigkeit. Mit ihren Großstadtbildern schafft Felber es, die einzelnen Menschen sowohl als Individuen, als auch als Stellvertreter für die jeweiligen Großstadtgesellschaften zu portraitieren. 

Sabine Felber ist ein „Participant Observer“. Dieser Begriff aus der Ethnologie (einem der Soziologie sehr artverwandten Fachgebiet) bedeutet soviel wie „teilnehmender Beobachter“. Um sich auf ihre Foto-Shootings vorzubereiten und auf die jeweiligen Eigenheiten und Eigenartigkeiten der verschiedenen Metropolen und deren Bewohner einzustimmen, liest sie Texte einheimischer Autoren, spricht mit den Bewohnern und sucht passende Orte im öffentlichen Raum. Sie wählt einen bestimmten Blickwinkel und wartet, wartet, wartet – mit einer Engelsgeduld - auf den richten Moment.

Wie ihr schweizer Kollege Beat Streuli, interessiert sich Sabine Felber für das, was die Menschen in Großstädten bewegt, sowohl physisch, als auch psychologisch. Die Beziehungen zwischen den Menschen – wie auch zwischen Mensch und Umwelt bzw. Architektur – spielen dabei eine wesentliche Rolle. Auch wenn der Mensch und die ihm umgebene städtische Architektur gleichberechtigt neben einander stehen, geht es weder um traditionelle Portraitfotografie an und für sich, noch um Städtelandschaften im klassischen Sinne. Es handelt sich vielmehr um eine Symbiose der beiden Genres -  es entsteht eine Art psychologisches, zeitgenössisches Portrait einer Stadt zu einem bestimmten, durch den Menschen vorgegebenen Zeitpunkt. Die Bilder sind also zeitlos und gleichzeitig ein Ausdruck einer präzis ausgesuchten und mit Hilfe des Fotoapparates festgehaltenen Zeitgeists.

Felber zeigt auf gar keinen Fall das Typische oder gar Stereotype einer Stadt, auch nicht das Spektakuläre, sondern sie zeigt die Menschen und ihren Alltag im Kontext einer Weltstadt. Es werden Geschichten erzählt, auch wenn die einzelnen Erzählungen völlig offen sind – ohne Anfang, ohne Ende und erst recht ohne vorgegebenen Ablauf. Sabine Felber liefert dem Betrachter „Momentaufnahmen“ im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, d.h. Aufnahmen von Momenten, die an und für sich unspektakulär sind. Es ist die Kunst von Felber, genau diese Einfühlsamkeit in und mit ihren Bildern zu transportieren. 

Nach oben